ASEH is very grateful to the University of California-Berkeley and Stanford University for hosting this conference.

We also thank the following sponsors for their generosity:

Arizona State University, Public History Program

California Historical Society

California State Polytechnic University-Pomona

California State University-East Bay: Departments of Anthropology, Environmental Studies, Geography, and History,

Carnegie Melon University

Center for Ecological History, Renmin University of China

Center of the American West, University of Colorado-Boulder

Forest History Society

La Boulange de Yerba Buena

John Muir Center, University of the Pacific

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

National Science Foundation

Network in Canadian History & Environment (NiCHE)

Next Exit History

Oxford University Press

Rachel Carson Center for Environment and Society, Munich

Rainbow Grocery Cooperative

Santa Clara University

Sonoma State University

Stanford University:

Bill Lane Center for the American West, Stanford University

Center for Spatial and Textual Analysis, Stanford University

Department of History, Stanford University

University of California Berkeley:

Berkeley Institute of the Environment, UCB

College of Environmental Design, UCB

College of Letters and Science/Arts and Humanities, UCB

College of Letters and Science/Social Science, UCB

College of Natural Resources, UCB

Department of Anthropology, UCB

Department of English, UCB

Department of Environmental Science, Policy, and Management - Society and Environment, UCB

Department of Geography, UCB

Department of History, UCB

Department of Spanish and Portuguese, UCB

Energy and Resources Group, UCB

University of California-Davis: Departments of American Studies, English, and History

University of California-Riverside, Public History Program

University of California-Santa Cruz, Department of History

University of Colorado-Boulder, Department of History

University of Delaware, Department of History

University of Kansas, Department of History

University of Wisconsin-Madison:

Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies

Nelson Institute Center for Culture, History, and Environment

USDA Forest Service

Winslow Foundation

We thank the following individuals for their support of this conference:


Colin Milburn, University of California-Davis, the Gary Snyder Chair

John Reiger, Ohio University-Chillicothe, emeritus

Edmund Russell, University of Kansas

Jeanie Sherwood, Davis, California [for her continued support of the travel grants]

Garrison Sposito, University of California-Berkeley, The Betty and Isaac Barshad Chair in Soil Science

Joel Tarr, Carnegie Mellon University